Pennsylvania | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Can i sue someone who i loan $10.000 to in 1998 in Small Claim Court or is it too late.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Solomon Weinstein |
Generally there is a four year statute of limitations on a breach of a contract. Much depends on the terms of your loan. When did repayment of the loan begin. if the contract had a certain date for payments to begin then the four years would start from the date that a payment was not made. However if the other party made irregular payments then it may have caused the four years to begin again. Ie. he was to start paying the loan On january 1, 1999 by making payments of $500.00 a month He never started to make the payment. The statute of limitation would be four years from the missed payment. However say on January 1, 2002 he made a payment of $300.00 this may have the effect of restarting the staute of limitations for another four years etc. If you are unsure perhaps talking to an attorney about when the last payment was made and other facts would supply you with whether you still have a claim. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Rosner Law Firm P.A.
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Gerald M. Hershenson
Yardley, PA
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-08
Search Questions and Answers


