Pennsylvania  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
6/21/04, 12:04 pm

Legal Question


Is My Business Liability Insurance Company Likely To Defend?

I have been running an incorporated restaurant (w/ bar area) for the better part of 25 years. Quite some time ago, an incident took place wherein an individual (a past patron) entered my establishment with a knife and inflicted significant (but not life-threatening) wounds upon a woman present--the woman with whom he was 'involved' at the time (ironically, a relationship which apparently remains intact from what I hear-presumably thru plate-glass). So, I rushed to the restaurant, and the police & ambulance had also arrived. After hearing the involved parties were each respectively in stable conditions, I did not take the intiative to contact my insurer about it--yes, a rather unintelligent move, I know (at the least). Anyway, then came the woman's lawsuit which I forwarded to my long-time insurance company with whom I have an excellent record. My policy requires 'timely notification' of such incidents to the company & they intially instilled ample fear by telling me my delay in notifying would -likely- mean they would not defend the suit. BUT, they have since attained all needed information, and have thus far been defending the suit [talking settlement?] for a while. How worried should I be that co. might still back out? Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search