Pennsylvania | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Insurance Subrogation
My son was in a car accident when he was 16 (almost 17). The claim was settled the day he turned 18. He received the maximum payout by the insureds company as well as the max from the underinsured. The health insurance company is trying to recover the monies paid out for the claim through a 3rd party company. My son's money is tied up in a insurance annuity with money only being paid out at specific times. Is he liable to pay back health insurance company for money they paid out in his behalf? Isn't that why we pay our health insurance premiums (to be covered in the event of an accident)? The 3rd party company keeps sending us letters asking us about the status of the claim and I have not responded.


