Pennsylvania | Insurance Law
Legal Question
i need a short certificate to collect two unpaid life insurance policies my grandmother had,to whom should i talk to,i have all the details but need some direction on how to proceed.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Richard Teitell |
1. If the life ins policy designated a specific beneficiary the ins co will pay that person without the need of a "short cert" 2. If the life ins policy designated your grandmother's estate as the beneficiary, then an estate must be registered in the Register of Wills (RW) in the county where grandmom resided. If grandmom had a Will the Will probably designated an executor who is the person who will go to the RW to register the estate. If no Will, the law provides a schedule of the closest relative who will appointed the Administrator. In any case, whoever is the Executor or Administrator can get from RW the short cert. The short cert is just a document with the official seal of the RW that verifies the appointment of the executor or administrator, that you can give to the ins co , banks, etc so you can get the assets of grandmom & place them in an estate bank acct. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
DIAMONDLAWYER
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 684
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-16
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Richard K. Teitell, Esquire, P.C.
Bala Cynwyd, PA
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-31
Cohen, Placitella & Roth, P.C.
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Senker Law Office
Plymouth Meeting, PA
Questions Answered: 235
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


