Pennsylvania | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
I'm filming a video to impress a film school I'm looking to enter. I'm going to give you all the specifics to my question, so there's no confusion.
The film features a time traveler and he travels back to the sinking RMS Titanic. The sets will all be constructed on our own, but there is one shot where in our set, the character opens a door and on the other side is a greenscreen (where we can add an image while editing). The image will be the grand staircase.
Now, here is the question:
The image we are hoping to use is from the 1996 video game 'Titanic, Adventure Out of Time' by Cyberflix. It is a company out of business since 1998. I cannot find any info on the current copyright state. If it is a freeze frame of the staircase, not the focus of the shot, partially obstructed, and only on screen for a few seconds, is it legal to use this image?
It's for college and later to be used as a fund-raising film for a future project (via DVD sales)
Thank you,
Tom


