Legal Question in Juvenile Dependency in Pennsylvania

I am a 17 year old high school graduate in need of emancipation. My parents and I have been disagreeing for months about where I should go to college. I am financially responsible for college. I am currently enrolled at the University of Pittsburgh and Fordham University. I want to go to Pitt because it is more affordable, close to home, and I want to study their Psychology program. My parents want to ship me off and they have threatened physical violence if I do not comply with their demands. Their is a history of abuse in my family. How can I file for legal emancipation?

Asked on 7/19/10, 9:10 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes you can, but it varies by county. You will have to prove to the court that you are financially able to take care of yourself. Here is a link to a very good explanation of it:

http://www.nwls.org/emancipation_of_minors.htm

Read more
7/22/10, 10:25 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Juvenile Dependency questions and answers in Pennsylvania

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now