Pennsylvania | Employment Law
Legal Question
Gender Discrimination
I was working for a company for 2 years as a Purchasing Agent. After discussing with my supervisor that my husband and I were trying to start a family his reaction was ''Are you going to be a working mommy''? I said yes, The next day I was informed that my job was going to take a different direction to be a more hands on and that I would get dirty. I was no longer needed for that position. Later that day I was talking to the human resource manger and was told the direction the job was going was better suited for a man, but the purchasing position was going to be phased out. I recently found out that a man was infact hired and will be taking over my responsiblities they will give him the title of Shop Foreman. In the meantime I have also found out that the company has hired an intern to take care of my duties until the position was refilled. On another occasion this company fired a women 2 weeks after she went on maternity leave I believe that there may be a connection. Do I have any legal rights in this matter?


