Pennsylvania | Employment Law
Legal Question
Am I required to inform my employer about a medical condition?
I have recently been diagnosed with a sleep disorder, and am currently recieving treatment for it. I have been unable to get more than 5 hours of sleep a night as a result of it, and am experiencing symptoms of depression, which may have an effect on my work. I am the technical administrator/Web developper for a small company, and work in a regular office building in Center City Philadelphia. My question is am I legally obligated to inform my employer of my condition. I do fear reprocussions if I do choose to inform them, with them not fully understanding the condition and treating me with ''kid gloves'' as a result if I do tell them. I do not fear losing my job, but I do feel that I will have some responsibilities taken away, and will be ostracized as a result. I am under a doctor's care, and have been working with my doctor on this, but have not informed anyone I work with.


