Pennsylvania  |  Employment Law

question bubble
7/18/03, 6:21 pm

Legal Question


Smeeling alcohol on employees breath

We recently hired a receptionist a few weeks ago. She is still in training (we are a medical office). She has been doing very well in her training and is very pleasant with clients/patients. Several days ago another employee told me she could smell alcohol on the new receptionit's breath. I went down to check (non-chalantly as possible) and did indeed smell ''something'', though she showed no signs of intoxication. The owners of the practice were hesitant of doing anything about this because she showed no signs and we could not be certain it was alcohol. I have detected the same smell twice more this week , and other employees have commented on it as well (though they have told me she is doing her job well).

Is it legal to ask an employee if they have been drinking while in duty? What if they no they have not, but I continue to smell this odor? Thank you for your time.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search