Pennsylvania  |  Employment Law

question bubble
10/15/06, 7:45 pm

Legal Question


Unpaid Training Period

I am a manager at a food service establishment and my question relates to a training period. We like our new employees to train for 3 days broken into four-hour shifts. We were paying the full pay rate before but that became a problem.There is so much to learn a trainee can only get involved with the help of another employee or manager. Basically we were paying them the full amount to watch or shadow others. Is it legal to have an unpaid training period? Should we pay minimum wage for the training? If they agree to work the 12 hours unpaid, does that make it legal? Do we need it in writing?

Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search