Pennsylvania | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
breaking a lease
I am currently in a lease with a roommate and need to move for work. There is 6 months left on the lease. What is my responsibility to the rest of the lease? How long am I obligated to pay before it turns into my roommates responsibility to find a new roommate?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Matthew Kelly |
Re: breaking a lease You are obligated to pay until the lease term expires. Unless the lease is very unusual, you are both jointly and severally liable, which means the landlord can sue you, the other person or both - whether you move out or not. Did you and your roommate enter into an agreement that would make them responsible for paying your rent or finding another roommate if you had to move out? If not, why would you think they had any obligation to do anything? Something you may want to consider is if you do move out and your roomamte does not, even if they find someone else to take your place, you will still be responsible to the landlord for the rent and in the event the lease has sme automatic renewal provision you may stay on the lease beyond the end of the immediate term.
I suggest you try to work this out with both your roommate and your landlord. Read the lease very carefully (better yet, hire a competent attorney to read it) and do what it calls for regarding termination. Also, if your roomamte and landlord allow you to get out of the lease get it in writing, a simple termination and release should work. Without it you are setting yourself up for a big headache. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Rosner Law Firm P.A.
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Law Office of Justin C Gearty Jr
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Offices of Cary B. Hall, L.L.C.
Souderton, PA
Questions Answered: 204
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-15
Search Questions and Answers


