Pennsylvania | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
Injury and what can I expect from landlord
I fell down my cellar steps on the way to the only bathroom in my house, which I rent. The bannister came right out of the wall, which my landlord said was only screwed into the drywall and not braced...he said no wonder I fell. I broke 2 toes & injured tendons in my knee. I was off work for 2 months and was in considerable pain. I have returned to work, but cannot work my normal overtime that I would have been scheduled for. My foot dr recommends surgery now, but I cannot afford to be off from work (I've used up all sick time). Between the specialist, ER, and prescriptions, I've spent around $250. I reported what happened to my landlord right away, but they have not offerred any assistance for my medical bills or anything. Do I have any right to ask for help with my medical bills....or pain and suffering....anything like that? I do not have a lease....I pay cash and get a receipt for my rent each month. I LOVE where I live and I'm afraid to ask for any help for fear that they'll ask me to leave. Any advice?


