Pennsylvania | Landlord & Tenant Law
1/03/09, 5:12 pm
Legal Question
what do you do when a renter won't pay?
what can a landlord do if a tenent won't pay their rent for months.
what do you do when a renter won't pay?
what can a landlord do if a tenent won't pay their rent for months.
|
Read More Answered By: Audrey Buglione |
Re: what do you do when a renter won't pay? You evict them. You must follow specific procedures to do so. You cannot lock them out or turn off utilities. No self-help remedies are permitted. I advise that you call an attorney in your area to handle the eviction process for you, at least the first time. After that, if you need to evict again you will have the file/process/resources to guide you.
|
|
Read More Answered By: Solomon Weinstein |
Re: what do you do when a renter won't pay? Filing an eviction process in the appropriate court would be your remedy. It appears from your zip code that this would probably be at a district court where the property is located. You should follow the procedures outlined in your lease and other appropriate legal provisions provided in the Landlord tenant Act which may be found in Purdons Statutes. You probably should consult with an attorney for advice or possible representation. If you would like to consult with my office feel free to call to schedule an appointment. |
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Souderton, PA
Questions Answered: 204
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-15
► Can i be taken to court for back Rent My ex-boyfriend and i signed a lease together...
► Civil Law Suits by Non-US Citizens Dear Attorney, I know a Chinese National who has...
► Landlord/tenant I live in PA and I just recieved eviction papers in the mail from...
► Rent What type of notice does a tenant at will have when it comes to being asked to...
► Landlord-Tenant Dispute Have been with Landlord for approx. 10 years. 2 different...
► Security Deposit My old apartment complex is refusing to return my security deposit,...
► Lease Agreement My husband and I were emailed by a friend offering us an apt. in Pa....
More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Pennsylvania| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press