Pennsylvania  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
10/16/09, 6:34 pm

Legal Question


On 6/13/09 I went to the ER for abdominal pain. After 3 xrays and some blood work I was diagnosed with intestinal flu. I left the hospital in as much pain as I came in. i was told that there was no real cure for abdominal flu and i would basically have to suffer through it. The next day I was in more pain and since it was a sunday I called back to the hospital ER. The Trama nurse I saw the day earlier and she said if I didn't have any other symptoms that there realy wasn't anything they could do for me. Well to make a long story short my appendix ruputured but was sealed with an absesce which sealed my appendix from releasing any more toxins so I thought I was ok on monday cause I had no pain. I followed up with my general Doc 5 days from my ER visit. I had more blood work and was asked if I had a CT when I was in the er. I said no so he sent me to another hospit where I had a CT done and the found out that my appendix did indeed rupture and I was admitted to the hopit for 8 day of extensive treatment to heal the absess and I had a drain put in that i had to have for 4 week. it was taken out then I had to wait 4 more weeks for my body to settle then finally on 8/21/09 I had a laparscopic appendectomy. after surgery i got a bacteral infection and had my incision reopened 4 times. i am still suffering from the infection. All of this could have been prevented at the ER if I had a CT scan instead of a traditional Xray because I did not have the common appentisitis symptoms. Do you think I have a case for medical malpractice? How long does it take to find a lawyer cause I called 3 but no one has called me back.

Thanks for you assistance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search