Pennsylvania | Medical Malpractice
Legal Question
Dental Malpractice? Dentist cracks tooth inserting pin!
I had a sensitive tooth, the dentist took x-rays and found that there was some decay under an existing filling. The decay looked extensive and removing it may end up in root canal and installing a crown on the tooth.
Well, when removing the decay, he did end up going into the nerve and a root canal was performed that day. He set a temporary filling in the tooth. After 1 day the temporary filling he put in fell out, I called the office - they said as long as I was not in any pain I would be ok until I came back. On the 1st visit to prep for the crown he cleaned out the tooth and drilled to insert a ''pin''. Upon inserting the pin(with quite abit of force?) I felt a quick sharp pain straight through the tooth. He put in another temporary filling, took x-rays again and I have to come back for phase 2. A week later, I am positive that the tooth is split. I am feeling the same sharp pain and tooth is in two distinct pieces. I do not want to go back to this dentist. My question is what is the next step I should take? I don't believe a cracked tooth can be crowned - it may have to be removed - then what? a bridge or implant? Who's to pay? Should I see a Lawyer now? Another Dentist? How so I document everything?


