Pennsylvania  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
11/14/09, 10:55 am

Legal Question


What is the statue of limitations on medical-mal-practice?


question bubble
11/19/09, 11:13 am

Legal Answer


The statute of limitations is two (2) years from the date that the malpractice ocurred, or the date that it was discovered. You must be careful in determining the tolling date, the date that the clock starts ticking. If you fail to file a Complaint within the two years, you are banned from pursuing a recovery. Similarly, if you fail to name a viable defendant in your lawsuit, you may miss the true target of the litigation.

If you would like to meet for a free consultation to discuss this issue further, please call.

Jim

James Monaghan

Solomon, Berschler, Schatz, & Monaghan, P.C. 522 Swede Street Norristown, PA 19401-4834

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 1:54 pm

Legal Answer


You should also be aware that there is a different time limit for filing claims on behalf of minors, two years from their eighteenth birthday. Further the discovery rule exception is complicated and you should not consider late discovery an exception unless you consult with a lawyer who you inform fully of the facts.

Jerry Meyers

Meyers Evans & Associates, LLC Gulf Tower, 707 Grant St. Suite 3200 Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 8:11 pm

Legal Answer


Anyone considering a medical malpractice lawsuit should contact malpractice attorney as soon as possible. There are strict time limits that apply to the 'exceptions'.

The two year statute of limitations should not be taken as a license to delay contacting a lawyer as a lawyer need time to investigate before filing suit.

As the statute of limitations gets closer to running out, attorneys will be increasingly hesitant to get involved with your case.

Arthur Newmark

Arthur Newmark, M.D.. Esq 1700 Sansom Street, 7th Fl. Philadelphia, PA 19103

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search