Pennsylvania | Personal Injury
Legal Question
car accident
I was injured in a car accident last week and broke my arm. I'm wondering what to do next?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: William Marvin |
Re: car accident this might be a good opportunity to repost an FAQ I put together quite a few years back, but it probably won't all fit:
So take a look at http://www.lawguru.com/faq/1.html as well:
Frequently Asked Questions about Personal Injury Law
WHAT SHOULD I DO FIRST?
First, get medical treatment. If you were seriously hurt, you may have been admitted to a hospital. Once your condition has stabilized, there will be plenty of time to deal with lawyers and insurance. You should call your regular family doctor, so he can help coordinate any followup treatment, and so his records will reflect your injury. If you have any pre-existing injuries or ailments, you should give any doctors, as well as your lawyer, the full history. The insurance companies participate in an "Index Bureau" which tabulates the names of everyone who reports or claims injuries, no matter how minor, so it's much better for the people on your side to know about these things from you, up front. Second, if you were in an auto accident, call your insurance company to report the accident. But DO NOT AGREE TO GIVE A RECORDED STATEMENT TO ANYONE! You can and should politely decline to have any discussions with the other driver or any insurance companies. If anyone tries to contact you, just tell them to contact your lawyer. This is vitally important. If you talk to the other side, they may twist your words around. Even such innocent conversation as "How are you?" "Not too bad" could be used against you. Finally, keep copies of every piece of paper you get that has anything at all to do with the accident. It's also very helpful to get photos of the damage, both as to the car or any physical evidence of the accident, and of any bruises, stiches, casts, etc.
HOW DO I FIND A LAWYER? As soon as possible after an accident, you should see a lawyer, even if you don't think you have a claim. Lawyers who specialize in accident cases will be happy to meet with you, with no charge or obligation. Frankly, nothing will get a plaintiffs' lawyer to return a phone call more quickly than the phrase, "new case." Feel free to talk with several attorneys until you find one you are comfortable with. Of course, many lawyers advertise on TV or in the Yellow Pages, and many of them are good lawyers. But TV stations and phone company will accept advertising from anyone who will pay. Some of the best injury attorneys do not advertise at all, because their practice has been built on referrals from previous clients and other lawyers. For that reason, you should ask friends and family for recommendations.
|
|
Read More Answered By: Stanley Fudor |
Re: car accident Your medical bills will be initially covered by your insurance carrier. The damage to your vehicle will be covered by the other person's insurance carrier, assuming the other party was at fault. To sue for pain and suffering you must have elected full tort on your insurance. Follow the Doctor's treatment, submit a claim to your insurance carrier and either make arrangements to get estimates for the damage to your vehicle. |
Top Attorneys in PA
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
DIAMONDLAWYER
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 684
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-16
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Search Questions and Answers


