Pennsylvania | Personal Injury
Legal Question
DUI / Hit & run in PA
I was struck by a drunk driver who fled the scene, but was arrested 30 min. later, thanks to myself & a witness' description /plate #. She resisted arrest, was maced & taken to the hospital for blood/alcohol testing, and was charged. My vehicle was totalled, went to ER where I was told I had a fractured vertebrae & thumb. Later, a radiologist read my x-rays & determined there were no fractures, but I am experiencing alot of back & neck pain, the thumb seems to be healing well. My Dr. has me going to physical therapy for the neck/back issues. I have full-tort insurance. My questions are: 1) What amount of punitive damages would be fair & reasonable? 2) How do I determine what her policy limits are? 3) If she has the state minimum ($15K), what issues will I run into filing against my own under-insured coverage? 4) Will my medical expenses (being paid by my own ins. co.) be deducted from any settlement? Sorry this is so long - thank you very much for taking the time to assist me!


