Pennsylvania  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
4/17/06, 11:06 pm

Legal Question


Guardian ad litem and pro se

Our mother was hit by a car a couple years ago (hardly survived). We (her sons) filed a lawsuit with her and two of us as Plaintiff's, in Pro Se. Judge removed two of us as Plaintiff's and only mother remains as Plaintiff. We petitioned to be mother's guardians ad litem (have had power of attorney,--name removed--facto and--name removed--jure we are her guardians -- she is seriously ill and has memory lapses and cannot conduct her own affairs). Judge denied, then approved that we be our mother's Guardians ad Litem. Both the opposing lawyer and the judge pressed us to get a lawyer ratehr than go pro se. We did, but it was so bad and unprofessional that we are dropping her (by mutual consent). We prefer to continue this Pro Se. Is there any statute of the law that would prevent us to represent (not as lawyers) our mother as her guardians ad litem in court proceedings, such as take depositions, oppose and file motions, etc. If there is a ptoblem with this can you state exactly what would bar guardians ad litem to represent their mother. Kindly research this thoroughly so you give us an informed answer.

If mother wants to--name removed--Pro Se (but cannot) and we are not allowed to represent her, isn't it then depriving our mother


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search