Pennsylvania | Personal Injury
Legal Question
who is liable?
Situation: Ok, so I am parked in my car, about to step out of it and as i do a young girl hits my door on an electric motor scooter in the street and injures her finger. Who is liable?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Thomas Matvey |
Re: who is liable? As you know, you cannot consider this response to be legal advice; I would have to discuss this matter in depth with you and be retained as your attorney for this to be legal advice. Having provided this disclaimer, in my opinion it may be that you are liable.
Suppose instead of a girl on an electric scooter hitting your car, it was another car hitting your door. Should you have looked for oncoming traffic prior to opening your door? How could the other driver have anticipated your door opening as they were traveling down the street? You are the one projecting an object (your door) into the lane of travel and must do so with consideration of those having a right to travel on the road.
The same analysis would apply to your situation. Should you have looked prior to opening your door? If you didn't. perhaps you should have and this event may have been avoided.
Looking further at the potential fault or contribution of the other operator; how long was your door open? Was she paying attention? Should she have seen your door and avoided it or did she have no chance to avoid hitting your door.
There may be contribution to the cause of the accident on both sides in your case. |
Top Attorneys in PA
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
DIAMONDLAWYER
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 684
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-16
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Search Questions and Answers


