Re: Pedestrian hit by a car in crosswalk
Liability will depend upon whether your mother was appropriately crossing "with the light," so-to-speak. Assuming that she was, she will definitely be able to make a claim for monetary damages relative to her injuries as well as pain and suffering. Depending upon when this accident occurred, she may require follow-up care, and it will be difficult to evaluate the case until a more definite prognosis is given by her physicians.
In any event, it would be advisable to contact an attorney at this point, especially because the insurance carrier for the driver will be contacting your mother and asking her to provide a recorded statement. Insurance adjusters have sometimes been known to manipulate the questions in such a statement to avoid or alleviate the clear liability of their insured, and to prevent recovery of the plaintiff, so it is very important for your mom to have someone on her side.
Our office handles personal injury claims including major-trauma accidents as well as minor injury cases. Our fees in such cases are "contingent," meaning that the client doesn't actually have to pay a fee; rather, we are paid through a percentage of the recovery of the case, and if no recovery is made, there are no legal fees.
Please feel free to contact our office if you would like to schedule a free, confidential consultation. We would be happy to evaluate your mother's situation and provide her options as to the best route to proceed.
Thank you, and take care.
Marc D. Daffner, Esq.