Pennsylvania  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
10/16/08, 10:52 am

Legal Question


I am scared I will lose my case or have a poor result

I injured myself on the job 2 yrs ago and obtained an atty to represent me on a consignment basis. I have rebuffed his sexual innuendos and in most recent months he has treated me horribly. This whole process has torn my marriage apart and my husband wants a divorce. I am the injured party here and feel betrayed by the one that should represent me. He curses at me, calls me stupid and quotes things that my doctors have never said. We now are at a stage with the case that the company being sued says their doctors say there is nothing wrong with me, which is just not true. I have been put on SSI as a direct result of the damage. My atty is encouraging me to settle for some ridiculous $500/mo payment for 25 yrs, because he doesn't think we'll win in a court of law. He just wants his money and run. My doctors have submitted their findings and assured me of the proper diagnosis. This condition is not going away and will progress over time. No contract was signed with the atty and at first it was a 33% fee, then he threatened with 45% and now I don't know what to do. If I am not satisfied with the offer, can I go to another atty without financial liability to this one. Please I need help....


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search