Pennsylvania  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
2/18/00, 11:09 pm

Legal Question


Breaking a Lease and Landlord's Obligation, Please help

We live in an apartment that has a kitchen sink that weekly backs up with waste water. The landlord pours sulfuric acid down the sink to clear pipes. We are concerned about the impact the waste water and acid fumes have on our health. We are seeking to break our lease and have informed the landlord of our intent to do so. We have sought a tenant to replace us. How should we proceed to minimize our legal exposure? Does the landlord have an obligation to make a reasonable effort to relet the apartment or can he do nothing to find another tenant while still collecting rent from us?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search