Pennsylvania | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Ending a lease early
I'm buying a home and ending my lease early. There is a waiting list to get into my apt community, and NOTHING on my lease mentions penalty for early termination.
My landlord sent me a letter stating I must sign to agree to paya cancellation fee equal to the remainder of the term, and the rite to sublet the unit.
This 'Cancellation fee' was not signed or mentioned at the time of signing the lease, There will also be no problem in finding another tennat immidiately.
Can I still be held responsible to this fee that I've never agreed to, though they get a new tennat?
Please advise!
Also, if you can refer me to an attorney to write a letter for me in Pennsylvania, I would gladly pay. I just do not want to deal with the stress.


