Pennsylvania  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
2/17/00, 5:33 pm

Legal Question


Landlord asked me to leave, I have no lease, what are my rights?

I have lived in my apartment for 2 years with no lease. My rent is due on the first of every month. While I was away on business, my landlord was in my apartment and decided that it was too messy (dirty) for her standards and left me voice mail on a common mailbox at my work that I was to vacate my apartment by the 17th of March (the call was received by my co-workers on the 2/14, but I did not find out about it until today, 2/17). Ironically, the reason she was in the apartment that day was because I had a housekeeping team in to do a major cleaning and then begin a weekly service arrangement. My biggest problem is that I am working on a very important project at work that will take many 80-hour work weeks for the next month or two. Finding a new place to live and moving right now would be all but impossible. Can she really make me leave by the 3/17? What law prevails in the absence of a lease? I would really like 90 days so I can get past this deadline at work before dealing with this. I don't want to sour relations with the landlord (I have family living on the same block). I do want to know what my rights are so I can write her a letter stating what my intentions are (knowing, of course, that I am 100% within my rights).


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search