Pennsylvania  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
2/18/00, 3:29 pm

Legal Question


Is a landlord permitted to evict a tenant for having a pet

Is a landlord permitted to threaten a tenant with eviction for having a pet when the lease agreement states that"no animal of any kind shall be brought or kept in or about the premises or within the building in which the premises are contained or on the property on which the building is located without the written consent of the landlord."I wanted to know , because i tried to get written consent and i was denied.The landlord said dogs were not permitted in the building.2 years later there are 3 dogs in the biulding.So I thought the rules had changed and got a dog.the landlord said that the other 3 dogs were lap dogs and those are permitted,and the people who have them are immaculatly clean tenants.It just so happens that they are considerably older than my family.I feel that I am being discriminated for age,and being singled out.So why does the lease agreement stand firmly for myself, and not for all others?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search