Pennsylvania | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Leak from toilet to sealing below
I purchased my house a week ago and the day after I moved in I noticed a leak in my toilet and bubbling in the paint of the sealing below the toilet. My dad pressed on the bubble and water came pouring out and continued to pour out for 6 hours. Upon buying the home I had the sellers buy me a year warranty with American Home Shield. I called them and they sent a plumber out. The plumber inspected the problem and after cutting three holes in my ceiling and removing my toilet, he discovered that this was an ongoing issue for some time and that the floor to the bathroom would have to be replaced due to the wood being rotted under the toilet. He said that it looked like this was a problem in the past and the previous owners covered it with new flooring. American Home Shield will not pay for it because it was a pre-existing problem. What can I do?


