Re: legal rights on getting ex-girlfriend off deed
I agree with Patrick's comments but wish to add one thing.
First, she is entitled to 1/2 the proceds of a sale, or 1/2 half the market value, because she appearantly has joint ownership in the property, period.
Next, generally you can ask for contribution, or 1/2 half any costs and expenses you have incurred to pay necessary expenses (taxes, sewer, assessments, etc.), maintain or improve the property. However, if you added a heated 3 car garage for your car collection, she may dispute this 'improvement', at least for any expense over the actual improvement in the overall value of the property.
If I were her attorney, as Patrick mentioned, I would ask you to pay the reasonable rental value of the proeprty for the time you have been living there alone.
THEN, if I were your atty (which I am not), I'd assert she was NOT entitled to the rental value of the property, because she could have lived there, but she chose not to.
I could keep going, but I won't... The long and short of this situation is, IF you can get her to sign a Quick Claim Deed, giving you any and all rights she may have in the property, DO IT FAST! If she asks to be 'paid off' to sign one, keep in mind the cost to fight this could easily be $5,000-10,000.
You have a problem. Don't ignore it, and I suggest you find an attorney to handle this for you.
Good luck.
Kevin J. Begley