Pennsylvania  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
5/04/02, 9:43 am

Legal Question


second mortgage foreclosure

We have 2 mortages on the home. The house is worth approx. 95,000. the first mortgage balance is around 63,000 and the second was 71,000. our situation is this: the first mortgager just stayed the foreclsoure sale and has issued us a loan modification agreement. However, the second mortgage company has told us that we have a zero principal balance and only owe 730.00 in late fees. When I ask what has happened they explain that the house was foreclosed upon, however, there was no sheriff sale by this second mortgager, nor any judgement against us listed with the court. our credit report does show foreclosure on the loan. My concerns are if we sign the agreement with the first mortgager, what becomes of the second? have they written this off? and if so do they still have any type of recourse with the property? such as a real foreclosure sale or eviction? also if they did write this off what about a free title from them if we do ever choose to sell the house? my time is rather short, we must return the agreement within 4 days, any help in this situation would be greatly appreciated!!

thank you,

MP


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search