Pennsylvania  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/08/11, 11:04 am

my mother in law passed away 5 years ago. we tried to sell her house which needed greatly repaired and is located in in a bad area. Cannot be sold. The deed is in her name. Since she was a poor woman there was not money left so taxes could not be paid. would we be liable for these taxes?

1 Answer


Answered on: 6/08/11, 12:14 pm by Miriam Jacobson

Generally, heirs and personal representatives are not personally liable unless they have received assets from the estate that should have been used to pay taxes and creditors.

This response is not legal advice, since I do not have all of the information that would be required, and I do not have a representation agreement with you.

* If the answers to your question confirm that you have a valid issue or worthwhile claim, your next step should almost always be to establish a dialog with a lawyer who can provide specific advice to you. Contact a lawyer in your county or township.

* Another reason for contacting a lawyer is that it is often impossible to give a good answer in the Internet Q&A format without having more information. The unique circumstances of your situation and things that you may not have thought to mention in your question may completely change the answer. If you want to be sure that you have a complete answer to your question and an understanding of what that answer means, establish a connection with a lawyer who practices in the area of your concern.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Miriam N. Jacobson 1900 JFK Blvd. Suite 1519 Philadelphia, PA 19103-1431

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search