Pennsylvania  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
3/27/02, 9:58 am

Legal Question


Mother's Mistake

A few years ago when my father passed away, my mother signed an agreement with my brother giving him half ownership of her farm and upon her death he receives full ownership. My mother has changed her mind and wants to absolve this agreement. My brother has refused to help maintain the farmhouse, which needs a lot of repairs,; doesn't help with the taxes, property insurance, water bills for the animals or contribute anything towards the maintenance. He has sold cattle, chickens, farm equipment and has not given my mother any of the profit. My brother has ceased speaking to my mother and refuses to turn full ownership back to my mother. He also refuses to let anyone see this agreement and calls to the attorney who drew up this agreement have gone unanswered. The farm's assessed worth is $185,000 and my brother is unconcerned that my mother is 77 and does not have the financial means to maintain this on her own. What can my mother do to remedy this situation?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search