Pennsylvania | Real Estate Law
4/02/02, 7:19 am
Legal Question
Property lien
Can a lien be placed on someones home without them being notified? And if so, how is this done?
Property lien
Can a lien be placed on someones home without them being notified? And if so, how is this done?
|
Read More Answered By: Matthew Nahrgang |
Re: Property lien Generally, liens are of four types: 1) consensual such as a mortgage; 2) judgment obtained after you have been sued with the opportunity to defend; 3) statutory lien from tax debt or sewer bills; 4) mechanic's lien from a contractor who performed work and was not paid.
In each case, some notice is required. In the first instance, you agree to the lien. In the second, you must have been served with a lawsuit. If you were not served, it is possible to contest the judgment. In the third case, notice is not always received and lack of notice does not effect the lien. Finally, in the fourth case you have the ability in a short time frame to contest the lien.
I trust this has been helpful, but feel free to call or e-mail for a free initial consult.
|
|
Read More Answered By: Gerald Hershenson |
Re: Property lien Notice is a requirement under Pennsylvania law to be given to an owner of real estate if a judgment is entered. Occasionally, if we a dealing with a non resident owner a judgment may be obtained after a court orders service by advertising. If a judgment is entered, I suggest you consult with legal counsel to review your rights. There are time limitations and requirements in order to proceed to have the judgment opened. First you must a defense to the action resulting in the judgment and file a petition to open timely. There are other requirements. Suggest you consult legal counsel immediately. If I can help please call. Gerald Hershenson Esq. 215-579-9390 |
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1388
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Yardley, PA
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-08
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
► Deed transfer to child I've recently taken over the mortgage payments for a second...
► Mother's Mistake A few years ago when my father passed away, my mother signed an...
► Quit Claim a house to one family member When my mother died, the deed to her house...
► Mortgage company says were behind but were not We are haveing a problem with our...
► Squaters Rights A neighbor just told me he owns part of the property I have had and...
► Is it legal is it legal to raffle off your house in pa?
► Renter Behavior Am I in any way, as a landlord, responsible for the behavior of a...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Pennsylvania| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press