Pennsylvania | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Protecting my assets
I have been the sole owner of my house for 6yrs and am currently engaged to be married. We are moving into my house to try and save money. Once the wedding date is set, we will be drafting the prenup to ensure my assets will remain separate should the union dissolve. Does living together now compromise my ability to keep my assets separate after we decide to wed?
We are effectively splitting everything but I am charging him monthly lump sums called “rent” and I will be paying all the bills, etc... myself, from my separate account.
Everything is in my name. Also, any work that he does on the house I would deduct from rent as ''payment for services''. Are my basis covered? Should I open another separate checking account for bill paying?
Thanks for your insight and advice.


