Pennsylvania  |  Tax Law

question bubble
9/13/07, 7:14 pm

Legal Question


Taxation of an LLC as an S-Corp?

I'm in the process of starting a tech consulting bus. where I will be the sole owner. I'm trying to decide whether to create the entity as an LLC or an S-Corp. I like the flexibility of a LLC but would like to take advantage of the employment tax benefit that comes with an S-Corp. That being I would only pay 15.3% taxes on the [reasonable] salary I pay myself. If I were to form as an LLC I would need to pay the employment tax on the total distributions.

Or so I have read...

My problem is that each ''expert'' that I have talked to has given me different opinions. All have stressed the same regarding the personal liabilities of each entity. However, this taxation issue has been described to me in various ways.

The most intriguing scenario explained to me by an Accountant, is that an LLC does not exist to the IRS. I was told that, in fact, there is no form for an “LLC” to file taxes. This accountant explained to me that an LLC is basically the legal shell for which the company is formed. However, for taxation, an LLC entity elects and files a form with the IRS and the state whether to be taxed as a S-Corp, sole prop., partnership, etc. In which case, can I form as an LLC and be taxed as an S-Corp?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search