Re: Drivers license problem
You asked a license problem.
Sorry to hear about your troubles. But I think you can straighten it out fairly quickly. Licenses are often subject to interstate compact so where a person is suspended in one jurisdiction there is a hold placed on that person's ability to get or use a license in any jurisdiction subject to that particular compact. Some states are members and some states aren't. You seem to have found two states that are members.
Go ahead and call New Jersey to see what you need to do to clear your record. Unless there was criminal conduct or some type, it will likely entail just paying fines and overcoming some administrative hurdles.
Because you were driving without insurance there may be some necessity to prove up insurance. And this may affect your rates or even ability to get insurance. While not a good option you can always can resort to the state insurance pool.
There is no reason not to deal with the problem head on. You are only prolonging your suffering by not dealing with the matter. It is likely that you have manifested more problems in your imagination than actually exist.
These are the questions for which you need to get answers: What administrative steps must you take to get your license? Do you need to prove up that you have current insurance? Can you do so with an insurance card or must you present a binder or other proof? How can you arrange to pay the fees due? (There are always fees.)
After calling to get the answers you should take care of these issues in person. Get the releases or satisfactions yourself when you pay the fines/fees.
Once that is done you can get in touch with the authorities in PA and see what you need to do to obtain a license.
FYI - If you renewed your insurance immediately after you found out it lapsed on the last occasion then that may be helpful (if it can be proved) to bring to the attention of either the NJ or PA authorities.
I would be willing to help you with this or any other legal matter. But this is something where it might make more sense to handle on your own.
Good luck.
Roger
When you have cleared up the