Legal Question in Traffic Law in Pennsylvania

Hello,

I recently purchased a car (8/22/2013) and I still have not yet transferred the title into my name. The reason for this was because the previous owner had a loan still on the car, he paid it off to get the title and his bank had told us he was going to receive the title in 2-3 business days from the pay off date, which I believe was 2 or 3 days prior to me purchasing the car (through a bank loan).

Now we have gone through many phone calls with various places and we finally got an answer and he received the title yesterday (Friday, 8/30). He was going to send it over night, however it still wouldn't have gotten here until Tuesday at the earliest, due to the holiday on Monday. As of now, he's going to the DMV to find out exact what he needs to fill out and sign on the title, in order for me to transfer it into my name at a notary.

The car is currently on my insurance policy and I just received a policy card for it today. When I asked my insurance company (Allstate) they said even though the car is on the policy, if I were to get into an accident, it wouldn't be covered because the title isn't in my name. Even though I'm paying for the insurance...

So my question is, is it alright to drive the car? The car was registered in Florida, and it has a Florida plate, and I still have the previous owner's registration in the car. I haven't been driving it due to not wanting to get into an accident and not be covered, or get pulled over and get in trouble for not being registered to me. The previous owner also stopped his insurance on it.

Asked on 8/31/13, 12:50 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

SAUL SEGAN SAUL H SEGAN ATTY AT LAW
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I strongly advise against driving it

Read more
Answered on 8/31/13, 12:53 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Pennsylvania

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Scott RiddleLaw Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLCAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now