Pennsylvania  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
6/07/07, 5:58 am

Legal Question


Pennsylvania-passing a school bus

Is it legal in Pennsylvania for a ticket to be written based on the statement of a school bus driver?

A school bus driver states my son passed the school bus while the red lights were flashing. My son denies this, stating as he was passing the bus, the red lines came on. Based on the school bus drivers statement, the police have issued a ticket.


question bubble
6/07/07, 6:36 am

Legal Answer


Re: Pennsylvania-passing a school bus

The issuance of the ticket is proper. The question is whether the school bus driver will testify.Your son should contact a lawyer to discuss this fully. I offer free initial consultations.

Mark Johns

Mark Johns, Esquire P.O. Box 842 Horsham, PA 19044

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
6/07/07, 9:20 am

Legal Answer


Re: Pennsylvania-passing a school bus

The ticket is proper. Crossing guards and bus drivers often provide witness information sufficient to write a ticket. If your son is willing to tell the same story that he told you to a court, then you should go to your hearing and contest it. The bus driver will likely not show.

Daniel Cevallos

Cevallos & Wong, LLP 1417 Locust Street, Suite 300 Philadelphia, PA 19102

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
6/07/07, 5:33 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Pennsylvania-passing a school bus

Yes, it's legal. The question is not whether the witness will show, but rather if the witness does show up, who is the judge going to believe. The law premits a citation for passing a school bus to be issued in this manner, but it requires the fulfillment of specific guidelines prior to conviction. The guidelines can be found in 75 pacsa 3345. Go to the pa code on this site and review it. If you have additional questions, please feel free to call.

Douglas Sughrue

Attorneys Crosby & Sughrue 428 Forbes Avenue, Suite 2400 Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search