Pennsylvania  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
5/28/09, 3:24 am

Legal Question


A traffic citation for speeding

I received a citation for speeding at 90MPH on a 65MPH zone on I76, while I was driving along with a crowd of cars, and there was a car tailgating me closely. I was inexperenced and told him I was driving at 80MPH when he stopped me not far from where he caught me with his radar. I have a clean record, but I am not sure whether I should try to get the case dimissed or look for a lighter sentence.


question bubble
5/28/09, 6:27 am

Legal Answer


Re: A traffic citation for speeding

Most trooper will reduce unrepresented motorists down 1 step. 25 mph over the limit is a 4 point offense. If you have a clean record you should be able to get it to 3 points (15 mph). If you would like a better reduction a lawyer demonstrates a seriousness of purpose as well as poses a threat to the troopers conviction so an additional step down to 2 points or even to 0 points is welll possible. I offer free initial consultations.

Mark Johns

Mark Johns, Esquire P.O. Box 842 Horsham, PA 19044

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search