Pennsylvania  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/15/07, 8:01 pm

Legal Question


checking account of deceased

How does a bank receive notification of an individual's death prior to public notice such as a death certificate and/or an obituary in a newspaper? Can a bank that has frozen assets until probate of a will not honor checks that were written out by the deceased prior to death to pay the deceased bills? My stepfather passed away on Thursday. My mother was notified Friday that my stepfather's assets were frozen. (This is prior to public notification in a newspaper or a filed death certificate) She was also told that all outstanding checks written by my stepfather to pay bills such as the mortgage would come back to the bank and would not be paid. This does not seem correct. How can a bank decide to not honor checks that were clearly written prior to death but had not been cashed by the recipients?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search