Pennsylvania | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
eviction
My father very recently died. His girlfriend refuses to leave his home. According to his will, we are to sell the home and divide it among the kids. We don't know what to do with her ?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Hillary Snyder |
Re: eviction As a quick answer, whomever has been appointed as the Executor of the estate has the ability to have her evicted by following the same eviction procedures as if you were in a landlord/tenant situation.
Since I focus my practice on estate administration, I also know that this may be a very emotional time for all parties involved, so keeping that in mind, it may be best to write her a letter giving her a date certain to move out. I would mail it regular and certified mail, and if she does not respect the request, you should go to your local magistrate to initiate the eviction process.
Administration of an estate can be complex especially when you have parties that do not see eye to eye. Don't forget there are deadlines concerning the filing of notices to the beneficiaries, filing the inheritance tax return, filing the inventory, etc.
I do give free consultations and would enjoy speaking with you, and answering any additional questions.
Sincerely,
Hillary N. Snyder 412.963.8495 |
Top Attorneys in PA
Hunter Law Office
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 2702
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of Miriam N. Jacobson
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1388
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Rosner Law Firm P.A.
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Morrow & Artim, P.C.
North Versailles, PA
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Search Questions and Answers


