Pennsylvania  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/01/06, 11:12 am

Legal Question


Intestate questions

My brother died without a will. He had no family of his own. He had two bank accounts(approximately $3700) that had our father listed as co-owner. The bank has already closed these accounts and the funds are now in my father's accounts.

Other possessions, such as furnishings and clothing, were given to relatives and friends or donated to the local Salvation Army. He did not own a car or a home.

We were told by a local attorney,since financially the funeral expenses will bankrupt him, that we may not need to name an Admistrator. Is this correct? I am willing to be the Administrator if necessary. How do we respond to those asking for reparations when there are no funds to pay them?

My brother was listed as co-owner or heir payable on death for bonds and CDs and is named as heir in 2-3 Wills. Do these documents need changed? If, god forbid, those who named him in their Wills would die without amending their Wills, would moneys go to his estate and be used to pay off his debts even if this occurs many years down the road?

How do we find out if my brother is entitled to any death/pension benefits from past employers or gov't agencies? Will we need to file tax return for 06, he didn't in 05 due to low income level?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search