Re: Saving Estate Tax
I think it's premature to be dividing your mom's property. Right now the property belongs to her and it is her desires that are crucial.
There are many reasons why a mother would not want to transfer a house to her children prior to her death:
1. If a child is sued, the house can be sold to satisfy judgements against them.
2. If a child goes into bankruptcy, the house becomes property of the bankruptcy estate and is subject to liquidation to satisfy the child’s debts.
3. If a child gets married, or is already married, their spouse can, in some situations, make a claim on the property in divorce proceedings.
4. If a child dies before the parent, the parent may inherit their own house, and will be forced to pay inheritance tax on what was their own property.
5. If your mom intends to continue to live in the house after it is transferred, and later has a falling out with you or your spouse she can be put out of the house (if you say, “You would never…”, think again. It happens all the time).
6. For tax purposes, if your mom transfers the house to you, you will take the property at her cost basis (price at which she purchased the property plus any capital improvements that were made). When you later sell the house, capital gains tax (approximately 20% ) will be due on the difference between the original basis and the net receipts from sale. If you inherit the house, you will pay 6% on the equity in the house at time of your mom's death death and no capital gains.
I think there are lots of reasons for your mom not to transfer the house prior to death. There may be compelling reasons why she would but you have to sit down with counsel to discuss them thoroughly.