Pennsylvania  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
1/30/10, 6:13 pm

Legal Question


I have signed a agreement through the workmans comp carrier of my employer to recieve regular wages in lue of insurance carriers check. My employer now wants to stop the wages check and let workmans comp pay .It;s a better deal for me with the employer paying the check due to some benefits being paid and taxes and unemployment. Are they allowed to do this after i have signed this agreement?


question bubble
2/05/10, 6:00 am

Legal Answer


The employer may pay wages in lieu of compensation but they are under no obligation to do so. It is their choice. I don't think it should impact your claim but I do highly recommend that you contact an attorney to discuss this issue. please feel free to contact my office for a free consultation.

James Monaghan

Solomon, Berschler, Schatz, & Monaghan, P.C. 522 Swede Street Norristown, PA 19401-4834

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
2/05/10, 7:02 am

Legal Answer


If your injury is long-term, you are better off on Workers' Comp than receiving payments in lieu by a small employer. Insurance Carriers are more stable than many employers and are better institutional payers of medical bills.

This may be an opportunity to just settle your case if you of such a mind.

Good Luck

TV

Terrence Valko

www.workerscomp.tv Suite 207, 615 Howard Avenue Altoona, PA 16602

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search