Rhode Island  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/22/07, 6:18 pm

Legal Question


Alienation of affection

I understand it is not a law in RI but the women in Question is a Doctor that lives in the state of Iowa is it a law there! Can I sue her in her own state!


question bubble
10/25/07, 5:34 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Alienation of affection

You should contact an Iowa attorney to determine whether Iowa recognizes the Tort of Alienation of affections against a person who cheated with your spouse. Iowa has personal Jurisdiction against her. You may be able to sue her there. The question that arises is - Will Iowa decide the case pursuant to Iowa law or Rhode Island Law?

David Slepkow

Slepkow Slepkow & Associates, Inc. 1481 Wampanoag Trail East Providence, RI 02915

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/25/07, 5:34 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Alienation of affection

You should contact an Iowa attorney to determine whether Iowa recognizes the Tort of Alienation of affections against a person who cheated with your spouse. Iowa has personal Jurisdiction against her. You may be able to sue her there. The question that arises is - Will Iowa decide the case pursuant to Iowa law or Rhode Island Law?

David Slepkow

Slepkow Slepkow & Associates, Inc. 1481 Wampanoag Trail East Providence, RI 02915

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search