Rhode Island | Family Law
Legal Question
Cheating Spouse
I caught my wife cheating, what will happen to our assets
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Christopher Pearsall |
Re: Cheating Spouse Unfortunately your question depends upon too many unknown factors. To understand your rights in this regard and how your wife's infidelity might affect your assets I would need to have a detailed coaching session with any prospective client.
If you are interested in setting up a coaching session to find out about your legal rights and how you can address various issues particular to your case, please feel free to contact me.
If I do not hear from you I wish you the very best in what I am certain is a very difficult time for you. |
|
Read More Answered By: David Slepkow |
Cheating Spouse-Proof of adultery in Rhode Island divorce Rhode Island has no fault divorce. However, "No fault divorce" does not mean that fault is not significant! Fault can be extremely significant in Rhode Island.
If you can prove that it is more likely than not that she cheated on you you can use that allegations to get a larger share of the marital assets.
If a party can prove that the other party is at fault for the breakup of the marriage, then they can seek a disproportionate share of the marital assets.
Fault may also be a small factor to determine whether or not a party is entitled to alimony. The following types of behavior could be grounds to obtain more than fifty percent of the marital assets: alcoholism, drug addiction, domestic violence, criminal history, incarceration, extra marital affairs (cheating), abusive behavior, gambling, emotional abuse, sexual abuse, financial mismanagement, criminal activity, abandonment, etc.
You should consult with a Rhode Island lawyer / attorney concerning the circumstances of your case and how they will affect your divorce.
Please feel free to call me
|
Top Attorneys in RI
Attorney Paul Lancia
Fall River, MA
Questions Answered: 372
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-27
LawyersCollaborative
Providence, RI
Questions Answered: 161
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-26
Law Office of Christopher A. Pearsall, Esquire
Coventry, RI
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Slepkow Slepkow & Associates, Inc.
East Providence, RI
Questions Answered: 116
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-06
D'Alessandro & Wright
Providence, RI
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Office of Lori J. Norris
Warwick, RI
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-04
Attorney Nancy E. Wildes
Pawcatuck, CT
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-04
Karns Law Group
Middletown, RI
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-12-02
The Law Offices of Matthew T. Marin, Esq., Inc.
Providence, RI
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


