Rhode Island | Family Law
Legal Question
my exhusband kept the info about we have been divorce since 2008 from me. i what to know if i can sue him. during that time till now he had me still thinking we are married so i was working on the marriage
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Christopher Pearsall |
In order to obtain the divorce, your ex-husband had to have you served with the divorce papers in a way that you should reasonably have notice of the divorce proceeding. If you knew about the divorce filing, it was up to you to make sure you kept up to date on what might be happening in the case.
Unfortunately there is no theory of law that I am aware of that allows you to sue your ex-husband. If your husband wanted the divorce then you might have prolonged the proceeding but you would not have stopped it, so essentially you would have no damages to sue to recover.
If you weren't aware of the divorce itself and you have a reason why you would want to be married as of today, you might want to find out how you were served and if it was lawfully correct. It's possible, though rare that you could successfully challenge the divorce based upon lack of due process. |
Top Attorneys in RI
Attorney Paul Lancia
Fall River, MA
Questions Answered: 372
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-27
LawyersCollaborative
Providence, RI
Questions Answered: 161
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-26
Law Office of Christopher A. Pearsall, Esquire
Coventry, RI
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Slepkow Slepkow & Associates, Inc.
East Providence, RI
Questions Answered: 116
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-06
D'Alessandro & Wright
Providence, RI
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Office of Lori J. Norris
Warwick, RI
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-04
Attorney Nancy E. Wildes
Pawcatuck, CT
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-04
Karns Law Group
Middletown, RI
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-12-02
James L. O'Neill
Providence, RI
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


