South Carolina  |  Administrative Law

question bubble
7/01/00, 11:13 pm

Legal Question


Copyright Infringement

Ineed to know the legal ramifications of copyright infringement. I wrote a sequel to Gone With The Wind and I want to self-publish since the Margaret Mitchell estate attorneys will not give me permission to publish my work. I can't seem to find out if the names of the characters are trademarked, but the book was first published in 1932. Does a copyright ever expire naturally, even if the heirs continue to apply for copyrights? Perhaps you could direct me to a reputable attorney near me who specializes in copyright, trademarks, etc. I hate picking one out of the yellow pages! Thank you for your help. This is very important to me. I thought if I published it myself I could withstand the legal battle I might face if at least they didn't take posession of my manuscript. I really need to know what could happen. I live in Texas. The attorneys for the MM Trust are in South Carolina. Thank you so much for your consideration and assistance.

Kate Pinotti


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search