Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in South Carolina

Marital Liability

My husband has purchased items and signed contracts that I have not been a part of. Am I liable for the debts if he does not pay?

Asked on 12/04/08, 11:17 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sheryl Schelin Law Office of Sheryl Schelin
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Marital Liability

Generally, no, unless you guaranteed the debts, or if the debts are for things we'd consider "necessaries" (i.e., food, shelter, etc.).

Read more
Answered on 12/04/08, 1:25 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in South Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now