South Carolina  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
10/30/09, 3:26 pm

Legal Question


i was arrested,booked,and thrown in a cell and my rights werent read to me....now i have $ 1600 worth of fines what can i do about this?


question bubble
11/04/09, 3:38 pm

Legal Answer


There might be quite a number of things that can be done for you. But I need more information. I don't know what you were charged with, or any of what the police said happened. There are numerous ways of handling these cases and each one needs to be handled based on the particular evidence.

As far as not having your rights read to you, that is greatly misunderstood. The police are not automatically required to read everybody thier rights. All that the Miranda Warnings say in this regard is that they cannot use any of your statements againt you in court unless you were read your rights. So if you go to trial, your lawyer can protect you if the prosecution tries of have a police officer testify about anything you said after your arrest.

If you would like to call me I can tell you the best way your case can be handled.

You can call me on my toll free number and I'll tell you everything you need to know. I take cases not only in Horry County, but in the whole state of South Carolina.

888-789-8100

Robert Johnston, Attorney

Myrtle Beach

Robert Johnston

Law Offices of Robert J. Johnston
P.O. Box 15035
Surfside Beach, SC 29587

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search