South Carolina | Criminal Law
Legal Question
How long can the solictors office take to set a court date on a felony case if the defendant is out on bond?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Johnston |
No one really knows how long they can take. It would seem that they can take forever. That sounds stupid, but the truth of the matter is that there is now law that states what the maximum amount of time is that they can call a case to trial. The only recourse the defendant has is for his/her attorney to file a Motion for a Speedy Trial. Even that does not guarantee that it will be called to court immediately. But at least it puts the prosecution on notice that there could be an issue as to any harm that could come by prolonging the case. |
Top Attorneys in SC
Law Offices of Robert J. Johnston
Surfside Beach, SC
Questions Answered: 1894
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Wallace Law Firm
High Point, NC
Questions Answered: 258
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Elizabeth Hyatt Robinson, Attorney at Law
Lancaster, SC
Questions Answered: 40
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-27
Cromer Law Firm, LLC
Anderson, SC
Questions Answered: 33
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
O'Neil Law Firm
Myrtle Beach, SC
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-11-19
Russell Mace & Associates P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 7
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-10
W. Pete Reid, Attorney at Law, LLC
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-05-30
Trenton H. Chambers, PA
Myrtle Beach, SC
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-04-22
Search Questions and Answers


